Fitbit Versa 2 Data Not Cleared Sync and Try Again [Fixed]

Fitbit Versa 2 data not cleared sync and try again is an error message that many Fitbit users are used to. Luckily, this is not a problem that is without a solution.

In this article, we’ve shared the steps to follow to fix Fitbit Versa 2 Data Not Cleared Sync and Try Again.

Fitbit Versa 2 Data Not Cleared Sync and Try Again: How to Fix

fitbit versa data not cleared

1. Remove Fitbit from the Fitbit app

To solve the problem, you might want to remove Fitbit from the app. To do this

  • Open the Fitbit app
  • Navigate to the Today tab and tap on your profile icon at the top
  • Tap on the Fitbit device’s name
  • If you’re using an Apple device, scroll down and choose Remove and confirm. For Android devices, tap the trash can and confirm you want to remove and unpair the Fitbit.
  • Open the device’s Bluetooth settings and check if it is listed as a connected device. If it is, tap it and choose to forget the Fitbit from the Bluetooth settings.
  • Ensure the Fitbit is removed

2. Change your Fitbit’s clock face

Temporarily changing your Fitbit’s clockface could help get your Watch and Fitbit app to sync by refreshing the connection.

To change the clock face

  • Open the Fitbit app on your paired mobile device
  • Tap the Today tab > your account picture or icon at the top
  • Choose your Fitbit from the account list
  • Tap clock faces
  • Choose All Clocks and Select a new clockface from the By Fitbit options
  • Tap and install the selected clock face. Set the permissions
  • Wait for the clockface to download to your Fitbit. Once complete, tap your Fitbit’s screen and see if you can navigate without the data not cleared error message.

3. Re-pair your Fitbit to your phone’s Bluetooth

  • Open the Bluetooth settings on your phone by going to Settings > Bluetooth.
  • Select your Fitbit from the list of connected Bluetooth devices.
  • Choose the option to Forget this device. When you choose to forget the device, it unpairs your Fitbit from your phone’s Bluetooth
  • Do not try to re-pair your Fitbit through your phone’s Bluetooth settings, you will have to go through the Fitbit app for the pairing process to work correctly.
  • Open the Fitbit app.
  • Tap your profile picture or icon and choose from the Fitbit device
  • YOU will receive a notification to start the Bluetooth pairing process and follow the screens’ direction to set this up again.
  • If you don’t see a notification, tap the Notification settings in the Fitbit app to start the pairing process.
  • After successfully re-pairing with Bluetooth, wait for your device to automatically sync with the Fitbit app or tap Sync Now

4. Clear your Bluetooth cache

If you’re using an Android device, you use the additional Bluetooth feature to clear just the Bluetooth cache.

To do this,

  • Go to Settings > Apps & Notifications (or Apps.)
  • Show all your apps
  • Tap the Menu or More button (this appears like three dots or three lines)
  • Choose Show System apps
  • Scroll through the list and tap Bluetooth.
  • Choose Storage & cache
  • Tap Clear cache.

5. Remove your Fitbit from the Fitbit app and add it back

If your Fitbit continues to display the message data not cleared sync and try again, you might want to try removing your Fitbit from the app and adding it back

  • Open the Fitbit app on your paired device
  • Choose the Today tab and tap on your profile icon or picture at the top
  • Select your Fitbit device from your account list
  • Scroll down and tap Remove, then confirm. If you’re using an Android device, tap trash can, and confirm to unpair.
  • Open your Bluetooth settings on your device. If you see your Fitbit listed, tap it and choose to Forget it.
  • Ensure that your Fitbit is not still connected to your devices
  • Restart your device
  • Connect your Fitbit to its charger and start charging it
  • Open the Fitbit app and navigate to Today > profile picture or icon
  • Tap the options to Set up a Device
  • Set up and pair your Fitbit and try to see if the data error message shows up

FAQs 

How do I clear and reset Fitbit?

Clearing and resetting your Fitbit is very easy. Keep in mind that doing this will clear your information and all your settings. To do this on your Fitbit tracker, swipe over to the “Settings” menu. Locate the ‘About’ tap and press it.

Scroll until you reach the section labeled “Factory Reset”. This section could also be labeled “Clear User Data”. You will be asked to confirm whether you wish to erase your Fitbit’s factory settings. Confirm the request to clear and reset your Fitbit.

How do I factory reset my Fitbit without a phone?

If you have a Fitbit app on your computer, you can also reset the Fitbit Versa straight off that device. You will have to make sure your Fitbit is connected to the computer and has a full battery. Then open the Fitbit app and select the “Devices” tab. Select your Versa and tap the “Reset” button.

How do I clear My Fitbit for a new user?

If you’re using a Charge 3, Charge 4, Iconic, or Versa tracker, you can follow these simple steps to clear your Fitbit for a new user. Go to Settings > About > Factory Reset or Clear User Data. For Ace 2 or Inspire, go to Settings > Clear User Data.

Why is the Sync Icon and what does it do?

The sync icon on your phone means that the device is successfully connected to a computer or other device, and it is syncing data with the connected device. The sync icon is also used to update the content on your device with the latest changes made online.

If you wish to turn off the sync icon, open the Settings app and go to Accounts > Sync. From there, you can disable the sync for any account you won’t want to see the sync icon.